About the Swartz/Ferriter Scholarship

The Swartz/Ferriter Scholarship program awards monetary scholarships to people with kidney failure for continuing education. The awards are paid directly to the educational institution. Students may receive the award up to two times. Learn more about the program here.

Who Can Apply?

Applicants to the Scholarship Program must:

1. Live in Michigan and be on treatment for kidney failure or have received a transplant.
2. Have a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 2.0 (4.0 scale) and submit an official transcript. If an individual graduated from high school several years ago, alternate successful experiences will be considered.
3. Be enrolled in a full-time or part-time (minimum three credit hours per semester) undergraduate course of study at an accredited two or four-year college, university, trade, technical or vocational school.
4. Have the included applicant appraisal form filled out by a social worker, counselor, instructor/teacher, or supervisor.

How to Apply

To apply:

1. Download and complete the scholarship application. 
2. Send the completed application postmarked by April 2, 2018 to Cynthia Nichols-Jackson by following the instructions on the application.

If you have any additional questions about scholarships, contact Cynthia Nichols-Jackson at [email protected] or 800-482-1455.

Mary Brennan Award

The NKFM is excited to announce the Mary Brennan Award as part of the Swartz/Ferriter Scholarship Program. The award was established to honor Mary Brennan who donated a kidney. This $1,000 Scholarship is available as an additional award to scholarship recipients who are on dialysis and in financial need. Interested applicants should check the appropriate box on the Swartz/Ferriter Scholarship Application to be considered for the award.